Testing kumihimo bracelets

A few weeks ago I decided I wanted to try making kumihimo bracelets. Kumihimo is a Japanese braiding technique used to make cords. The Japanese warriors would use these cords to string their armour together as early as the 5th century.

I had had my eye on some kumihimo seed beads for a while because they were so beautiful but I wasn’t sure what project to make with them. Then I found a kit that contained everything needed to make a kumihimo cord bracelet and decided this was a great project for me to try out. And it was! Here’s a picture of how it turned out.

ImageI wasn’t able to chose the colours of the cord myself but I still like how it turned out and it’s very lightweight and comfortable to wear.

After this roaring success I went back to have a look at the beautiful beads and chose a few to try out as well as some cord and a few other things that will come in handy. The first beaded bracelet I made was for myself and here it is:

ImageI chose beads in blue and purple and it turned out so well (except I managed to glue two of my fingers together with super glue when I attached the cord ends. Don’t tell anybody). I just have to attach a clasp, then it’s ready.

The next step was to try making a bracelet with some nylon cord I had purchased for the same purpose. Here’s a picture of the unfinished bracelet:

ImageI do like the colours (it wasn’t intentional that they are the same as the beaded bracelet :))but I don’t think this cord is the best to use for kumihimo because it’s so chunky. Then again, it could be used for a man’s bracelet, since their wrists are generally thicker. The problem is to find a cord end that is large enough to fit the ends into. I do have a plan to make this work but I think these bracelets will be a one off in my shop until I’ve used all the silk cords.

So, the next step is to make a beaded bracelet to put up for sale in my shop. I have beads in red, blue, purple, white, black and a few others so I can make a variety for people to chose from. My ultimate goal is to let the cutomers chose the colours and design of the bracelet, but for now I’m going to see if these first few kumihimo bracelets will be of any interest.

If you are interested in purchasing a kumihimo bracelet you can visit my shop The Blue Oak Tree on Etsy. They should be up in a few days.

-Stine.

Leave a Reply

